Characters of Influence – echoing Laure Eve

An old Acquaintance of mine posted a comment about those fictional characters that have inspired her -affecting her writing and her life regardless, perhaps, of her feelings on the merit or strength of the medium they were presented in. I thought this might be worth exploring on a pseudo-psychological level because introspection is so much fun for blogs..

1. Granny Weatherwax – Discworld, Terry Pratchett.

My Role model extraordinaire from age 10. Strong, independent, bossy, possessed of an extreme moral stance based around helping people get what they need without expectation of acknowledgement and regardless of personal consequences – I have always felt the need to be the one who does those things . Also my first idea of what being a Witch meant to me.

2. Gandalf – Lord of the Rings, JRR Tolkein

Forget the magician of the Hobbit, I was truly entranced by the powerful, death-defying Wizard whose past was shrouded in mystery and darkness. From about 7 I wanted that power and that respect. Hmm spotted a theme yet?

3. Dr. Gregory House  – House, David Shore

Another loner, this one grumpy, blunt and misanthropic… I don’t just fancy Hugh Laurie, the character gives me hope for the self-sabotaging bastard I identify with most comfortably, plus he has a hero-complex.

4. Silk – Belgariad/Malloreon, David Eddings

He is a liar and a thief, a cheat,  a gambler, a drunk and a womaniser- I like it. I just want to be a bad boy, i’ll take the moral core if I can get the fun too…

5. Giles – Buffy the Vampire Slayer, Joss Whedon

With the books and the magic and the kicking arse. I can’t decide if I want to be him or sleep with him.

That will do for now. I think the themes are pretty clear. Sigh.

Any Thoughts?

