Disorderly Chickadee

I have had Imposter Syndrome for years, but I’m happy to report that I’m getting over it, bit by bit.

Imposter Syndrome isn’t in the DSM, and it’s not considered a mental illness. Nonetheless, it represents a very real cognitive bias and can be a truly anguishing condition. It’s been noted as particularly common among high-achievers, especially in academia, and even more so among grad students. My self-confidence problems are not just due to the depression. It’s also this horrible sense that I can’t keep up and never should have started down this road, regardless of the mountain of evidence to the contrary. I have absolutely no reason to believe that I’m anything other than awesome. But.

I have a hard time acknowledging my own accomplishments, which also leads to problems accepting praise. But the issue runs deeper than that. It causes anxiety over being “found out”…

View original post 332 more words

Any Thoughts?

