100,000

“A thesis for the degree of PhD shall not normally exceed 100,000 words..”

Apparently my current draft is 97,000… I am exceedingly worried. Since I haven’t finished all of the tidying up and writing I am clearly going to have to start cutting sections before long.The trouble is not that I don’t have ideas about where things could be cut but more how to do it without destroying the narrative flow.

I am however glad that the total is exclusive of footnotes and bibliography..cos there are 16,000+ words worth of footnotes and nearly 10,000 in my biblio.

Having trouble with the idea of ‘good enough’ at the moment. Perfectionist streak is pretty wide and its nagging me. How do you let go?

Any Thoughts?

