On living with Privilege

How do you put your hands up to those things that allow you better access to social respect and activities in the environment that you live in without whinging about the aspects where you struggle? How do you go one step further and use those privileges in a positive fashion?
Its really easy to qualify your positives by enunciating the negatives but how do you manage the interfaces?

I happen to be:

  • White [in a neighbourhood & country where not only is that is that the majority but it is the historical norm]
  • Culturally average in proportion (height, weight, shape ratios)
  • In possession of all my limbs and able to use them to carry out basic daily functions
  • My chosen gender presentation matches the genitalia I was born with
  • Sighted & Hearing
  • Not living with a neurological condition
  • Brought up without fear of deprivation (hunger, cold, loss of home etc.)
  • Brought up broadly safe from the threat of violence (not in a civil-war zone, social area with widely respected rule of law)
  • Given a regular education, not at odds with social norms and enabling developmental progression
  • Competent in the achievement of local educational goals
  • Financially solvent [and educated in such a way as to comprehend local financial practices – e.g. taxes, credit-systems, wages etc] enough to maintain adult independence

And probably a whole load of other things I haven’t even thought about.
I am trying to work out the way I can notice and demonstrate that the things that I sometimes take for granted are not straightforward and use my position to help changes happen.
My key thought-process at the moment revolves around education – my knowledge and ability to critically analyse the world is a privilege like no other in that it allows me to dissect other issues; it has given me an awareness of so many things outside of my experience, encouraged-no forced- me to take uncomfortable viewpoints and just plain thrown hard truths at me. So I’m going to spend a little time thinking about the parts of my education that really matter and why.

I’ll get back to you on this topic.. I hope.

One thought on “On living with Privilege

Any Thoughts?

